Why do I hate people asking me what is my hobby?!

A hobby horse is a wooden or wickerwork toy made to be ridden just like a real horse (which was sometimes called a “Hobby”). From this came the expression “to ride one’s hobby-horse”, meaning “to follow a favorite pastime”, and in turn, hobby in the modern sense of recreation.

Here is a definition from Wikipedia: “A hobby is a regular activity or interest that is undertaken for pleasure, typically done during one’s leisure time”.

Hobbies can be a good way to deal with stress, besides hobby classes often help develop a vision, to expand the circle of friends and can help you fulfill your potential.

The definition seem clear, the importance of having a hobby also. But why it is so hard sometimes to answer this question: “What is your hobby?”

 Sport. I usually watch basketball and football games. I enjoy playing tennis, volleyball, badminton. I visit dance trainings twice a week. I do it to keep fit, to entertain myself, but I can easily live without that.

Reading. Yeah, I do read a lot, but I don’t feel anything special about it. Same situation with occupations like cooking, writing, movies, music…

So what are the reasons? Why people do not gave a hobby? Here are some reasons and explanation why they actually aren’t reasons:

1. Laziness.

Do lying on the couch, watching TV or sleeping are hobbies? If so, that is a way out for lazy ones. According to the definition, those occupations can be considered as hobbies.

2. They think they are too busy for hobby.

Scientists believe that hobby can actually raise our productivity, so more things will be done and people will feel more relaxed and happy. Here are a few of the benefits of having a hobby:

–   Energizes You – a hobby brings you renewed energy and excitement.  This will carry over to the rest of your activities.

–  Provides New Creativity –when you are doing your hobby it sparks your creativity.  You are more likely to have creative breakthroughs.  Solutions to problems you are facing will come to you.

–   Prevents Burnout – We know that anything, even a machine, doing the same thing over-and-over will eventually burnout.  If you do not take a break to refresh yourself, you too will burnout.  Interestingly, this is also true in our personal lives.  It is equally important for our home relationships to have an individual hobby.

–   Personal Growth – We all need to keep growing both professionally and personally.  Doesn’t matter if your hobby is gardening, weightlifting, or reading, you will grow from it.

3. Lack of money.

You don’t have to ride a horse, travel or collect expensive cars to say, that u have hobby! There are so many things that will not cost anything, like embroidery, reading, jogging or playing sport games with friends.

As I believe hobby should be an activity, which you enjoy in your spare time regardless of the mood and the weather outside the window. It just has to be something that you feel passion about. And it can be anything that brings a smile on your face. It doesn’t matter if it’s your constant occupation or you often change it. Hobby – it’s all about you, it helps you overcome difficult moments, it develops you, and it helps you find friends.

So why do I hate this question? I already don’t. I have a lot of hobbies. I thought I don’t just because I compared myself to people who, for example, dance and it fill all their lives, it brings money to them and so on. Ok, those people are lucky, their hobby become their job. But it’s not necessary should happen to everyone. I’m already OK with what I have.

 

And, NO, I don’t think, that sleeping or watching TV are hobbies!

 

Позначки:, , , , , , , ,

Залишити відповідь

